What is Selfie Verification?
Selfie Verification is a voluntary process that allows you to verify your profile. After successful verification, you’ll get a new badge on your profile to show people that you’re really you.
With Selfie Verification, you will also be able to see whether other Hinge profiles are verified. That way you can make more informed decisions about who you interact with on Hinge.
How does Selfie Verification work?
Selfie Verification consists of one simple step: taking a video selfie. You will receive "verified" status if the person in your video selfie passes both the Liveness Check and 3D Face Authentication steps.
The Liveness Check scans the face in your video and helps us confirm that the video was taken by a real, live person, and that it was not digitally altered or manipulated. 3D Face Authentication detects your face in your video selfie and your profile photos, and extracts facial geometries using facial recognition technology to generate a unique number or facial geometry “template.” These templates are used to check whether the person in your video selfie is the same person as in your profile photos.
Your facial geometry templates are deleted within 24 hours. Your video selfie is deleted and is not added to your profile.
How do you use the Selfie Verification information?
We will only use your facial recognition information for the purposes of Selfie Verification.
What will you keep after verification is complete?
We will keep the results of the Selfie Verification process (i.e., verified or not). We do not keep the underlying facial recognition information or “template” beyond the Selfie Verification process (which is usually complete within 24 hours). We do not keep your video selfie.
Under what legal authority do you process the Selfie Verification information?
We process the Selfie Verification information only with your consent.
What is Hinge’s Policy for the retention and destruction of biometric information?
Biometric information—namely, facial geometries that allow us to conduct facial recognition on your video selfie and profile photos for the purposes of completing the Selfie Verification—are only created and retained with your consent for the duration of the Selfie Verification process. Selfie Verification may take up to 24 hours. Once your Selfie Verification is complete, the biometric information is deleted.
When Hinge deletes the biometric information following the completion of the Selfie Verification processes, it is permanently purged from its systems and can no longer be retrieved.
How do I find more information about Hinge’s data practices, including my privacy rights?
How Do I Start the Selfie Verification Process?
When you're ready to start the verification process, tap the Photo icon on the far right of your navigation bar. Then, tap on the gray check mark under your name.
Trouble with Selfie Verification
If you’re experiencing trouble with capturing your video selfie, you can exit the Selfie Verification flow and start again. If you experience any issues or have feedback about Selfie Verification, please feel free to contact us!
I don't see an option to use Selfie Verification
Selfie Verification is currently rolling out to both iOS and Android users in select test markets. If you don't see an option to use Selfie Verification that means it's not yet available in your area.